Build/Restore Thread: 1973 Ford Mustang Fastback

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

73.Fastback

Reaction score
My Car
1973 Ford Mustang Fastback.

It needs to be restored!
Hey guys, I've been on many forums so I know how the system works.

This is my first build/restore. 1973 Ford Mustang Fastback. Currently, the engine starts but it is not drivable due to a minor transmission problem. Right now it is in the shop getting checked out. I'm more of the cosmetic builder - so I let the pros handle the engine/transmission situation.

I will post pictures during the process except the engine/transmission part because it will be done by the pros.

A little history behind the fastback: There was a TV show called 'Repo Games' and the guy couldn't pay back the loan or couldn't make payments. He failed to answer 3 of the questions correct so they repo'ed his car.

The Fastback episode starts at 7:30. Feel free to watch the whole show.

Link - http://www.spike.com/full-episodes/um439i/repo-games-darwin-makes-a-break-for-it-season-1-ep-102

Pictures:

photo1_zpsc268b420.jpg

photo4-1_zpsc31bb7f5.jpg

photo2-1_zpsf1eae52f.jpg

photo3_zpse99019a0.jpg

Update: I talked to my mechanic and he says there are quite a bit of things that needs to be worked on as far as the mechanical side of the Fastback. So I went ahead and gave him the green light to start working on it. When it's done, I will do my best to take pictures of the work that was done to the car. It may take a while for him to do all the work so we gotta be patient! But if you guys have any questions, opinions, or suggestions about the Fastback, feel free to post it on here!

Last edited by a moderator:
I recall watching that episode and if I remember I knew the answers to the questions. Overall the car looks pretty solid, how is it up close?