Hello from North Alabama

aphaynes

Hello all. I am new to not only owning a Mustang, but to owning and taking on a classic projects in general. In this case, I was after a Torino when I came across a package deal of a 1970 Torino GT AND a 1973 Mach I. It was advertised as a 73 Mustang Fastback; but after looking at it, showing some pics to a buddy who loves mustangs and has owned quite a few, and researching the VIN, it turned out to be a Mach I...BONUS! :biggrin:

I do not know all of the history. I did acquire a Marti report for kicks. It was originally Medium Copper Metallic with Ginger interior and a 351C. Now it is White with a mostly completed black interior (white stripes in the seat covers) and a 351W. So, it has been through some changes. It is not driveable right now. The previous owner is the one who had some sort of trouble with the 351C, so he took it out and put in a rebuilt 351W he acquired from a local shop.

It's current state:

Interior is about 75% complete

Wiring under the dash is a mess

When ignition is turned to Start it shorts. In the Run position, you can jump the starter solenoid to turn the engine over.

Center console gauges do not work (see wiring under dash comment...:lollerz:)

Had factory AC, but all under hood components were removed. (my wife will want that back here in the Southeast :wink: ).

Exhaust not mated to engine. Previous owner had new exhaust put in for the 351C, but after swapping the motor, the exhaust doesn't mate to the 351W yet.

I was able to crank the motor when I got it home, but found out the dipstick in it was not the right one and it turned out to have 8 qts of oil in it. Drained that, put 5 back in and noted where on the dipstick that hits.

Started messing with the distributor to verify timing...mistake...now it won't start.

Yes, I have a lot to learn and figure out.

Headers/exhaust manifold is not completely secure. Smoke was coming out of various places when it was cranked.