Going EFI-Need advice on fuel hose selection

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

4mm

Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mustang 351C 4V Fastback
Hello all,

I'm going the EFI route and one subject I have little knowledge in is fuel hose selection. I've had stainless braided I the past and I didn't like the fact that fuel smell would somehow seep through and that eventually you have to replace the hose earlier than other types.

I've been looking into push lock PTFE rubber hose as my choice. Anybody have any feedback on this type of hose or a better recommendation?

Definitely PTFE lined hose. The Summit stuff is cheap and high quality PTFE. If you don't run PTFE you'll eventually have fuel permeation through the hose and an odor to match. I used AN fittings throughout my system.

I replaced the original lines in my car with metal tubing for the long runs from the tank to the engine and back, using fuel injection hose for the connections to the tank and engine from the lines.

Installed pre and post fuel pump filters as well .

I replaced the original lines in my car with metal tubing for the long runs from the tank to the engine and back, using fuel injection hose for the connections to the tank and engine from the lines.

That's what I was originally going to do to preserve the OEM look and it's metal tubing that I believe will last longer.

The instructions clearly state not to use stainless tubing? I don't know why though.

That's what I was originally going to do to preserve the OEM look and it's metal tubing that I believe will last longer.

The instructions clearly state not to use stainless tubing? I don't know why though.