Fuel type for 429 cj / scj 351 c / w?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
Ford focus and 1967 Fiat 500.
Hello forum.....I am a newbie.....this is my first real post, so please bear with me!

I have so many questions my head is spinninglollerz.

I am finalizing the purchase of a car........I have of course asked the seller a ton of questions an'all.

What type of fuel / gas do you guys run in your 429's? Do you use additives or not?

Also, what type of oil? Synthetic or natural?

Any info is good info.

You will get dozens of opinions so I will start.

I would not put any additive in my engine that

was not available when the car was built, or to

be more succinct, don't use any. My understanding

is you still have access to 95 octane gas, advantage

Europe. These cars were built to run on 100.

My oil is Valvoline VR-1 racing oil, again you will get

several opinions. These engines need high zinc and

phosphorous content in the oil. I bought a bottle of

"Hy-Per Lube" zinc additive for my oil, on the back the

label says "contains no zinc". Go figure.

mike

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks for the info. So, 95 octane lead free is ok?

Synthetic oil is also ok. I thought this was a big no-no in these engines. I was told 'Mineral based only'.....no worries ....keep the info coming......

Use the highest octane available. Octane ratings are determined differently in the US and Europe. Europe uses the RON method and the US uses AKI (RON+MON/2). US 91=Europe 95. It is not a mineral vs. synthetic issue, rather the level of ZDDP in the oil. I use Amsoil Z-Rod synthetic oil. If using mineral oil I use Valvoline VR-1. There are many other acceptable oils.

Here is a link discussing the issue. http://www.drivenracingoil.com/news/dro/training-center/articles/zinc-in-motor-oil/

I use VR1 and so far it's been good for my motor.