Can you tell from Marti Report if car came with Mach 1 Stripe?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sciabola13

Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mach 1
Greetings!  

Newbie here, I am getting my '71 Mach 1 on Thursday!  I just got the Marti Report, and was curious if you can tell if it came from the factory with the stripe/blacked out hood from the report?

The car was recently soda blasted and primed, it was Red prior to that, however the Marti report shows it was originally White, which makes sense based on the over spray I can see on the floors and door jams.

I have done some extensive searching on google and these forums, but haven't quite found the thread yet.

Thanks!  

Jeff

Easy - factory Ram Air.  The Ram Air optioned cars are the only ones to feature the TuTone hood black-out treatment as standard from the factory.  The Boss 351s had a different black-out treatment, but typically featured Ram Air as well.  In addition to the Ram Air and TuTone black-out treatment, the hoods of the Ram Air-equipped cars also had hood locks, standard.

Non-Ram Air Optioned cars did not come standard with the TuTone black-out or hood locks, although I believe they could be ordered.

Mine literally says "Ram Air Option"

https://www.7173mustangs.com/xthreads_attach.php/4250_1485118597_bab94fa5/4b3f3f2c4117d7a6d5a73f3f1e3f0000/1F05H122824_dlxrpt.pdf

Gotcha. My vehicle was not a ram air car, and the marti report shows it as a Stock order for the dealership in Texas so it seems most likely that it never had the strips and hood blackouts.

Hello Jeff. We were all newbie's at one time so welcome!