Camshaft by Chuck & Mike

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

So this is the camshaft I’m thinking about. George says he believes this is the best all around performance hydraulic flat tappet street cam.

Bullet Camshafts

Adv. duration 277/287

Duration @ .50 lift 228/235

Gross valve lift @1.73 rocker arm .580/.585

ICL 111*

LSA 114*

Seated overlap 54*

This cam is for my 72 Q code 351 .30 over w/4v 10:1 quench heads, flat top forged pistons, Blue Thunder intake, Quick Fuel 735 HS carb w/vacuum secondaries, stock manifolds, c6 trans & 3.50 trutrac rear gear. This car is driven for go and show. Not a daily driver so I want to be more on the performance side, but I do want it to have good street manners also. So in other words, I want it all! Lol

George penned this for a very similar build to mine, so it should be pretty close. He calls it the Bullet Cobra Jet Cam.

Any thoughts about it would be appreciated. I’m still learning about the Cleveland and open to suggestions.

I’m actually thinking about something close to this grind for a hydraulic roller cam.

John - 72 Q Code

Yes, that should be a good cam for what your intended use is. Should have decent low end, idle, and vacuum. It should work fine with your Q code compression ratio. Your rear-end will put it right in the highway cruise range for it.

The only thing, you'll probably want to get a torque converter with a stall in the 2,200 to 2,500 rpm range.

“If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.”

--Albert Einstein

Yes, that should be a good cam for what your intended use is. Should have decent low end, idle, and vacuum. It should work fine with your Q code compression ratio. Your rear-end will put it right in the highway cruise range for it.

The only thing, you'll probably want to get a torque converter with a stall in the 2,200 to 2,500 rpm range.

Oh, that’s lower than the one I have. Pretty sure the Q codes were 2800-3000 stall?