Changing metal corner on top quarter

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vinnie

Project manager "Project AmsterFoose"
7173 Mustang Supporter Member
Reaction score
My Car
1973 Mustang Grande 351C 2V, built on the very last production day (July 6, 1973) for Grande's.
Hey folks,

The tip of the inner edge on my LH quarter panel is somehow pointing inward too much. You can see it bending inwards too much when looking at it. So I'd like to correct this. In the included picture I've tried to show it, basically the red line should be corrected back to the purple line.

What's the best way of doing this? Heat it up and hammer it back? This is my first time doing sheetmetal work, any advise is welcome :)

Cheers,

Vincent.

I wouldn't even use heat. Just a flat body hammer and a nice flat body dolly on top. Hammer the side and lay the dolly on top to keep the line crisp. Just work it little by little. Keeping pressure down on dolly on top as you tap body hammer along the inside. May need to hit that high spot in corner with hammer to get it down. Hope that makes sense!!

If the metal starts to push in and make a hump, it may be stretched too far and will not go back by simple hammer and dolly work. Good chance that is going to happen.

If this happens, I would make a relief cut with body saw or whiz wheel, then get the inner flange where you want it and tack weld it back together. Sounds bad cutting into the car like that but a lot of times its easier than beating on a panel all day just moving metal around if its stretched too far already. By cutting it, you give the metal somewhere to go. Then you can grind the weld down and make a nice crisp body line. It looks like it was just dinged in the back corner and caused the metal to pucker. After you make your cut you will still need to straighten up that corner with a hammer and dolly.