surging while cruising

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lancelot72

Reaction score
My Car
1972 hardtop 351c
Hey all,

I'm having a problem with my car surging while at highway cruising speeds.  I think it's anything above 40mph or so.  I have read other posts about surging and haven't really found anything describing what I have.  It's not threatening to die or cut out.  It sounds great at idle.  It does have a bad hesitation when accelerating from idle, but I don't know if that's a different issue or part of the same.  It's a 351C 2v with a rebuilt 2 brl Carb that the PO installed within the last year.

I have tried spraying a modest amount of carb cleaner around the vacuum lines to see if the engine would react but it never did.  I'm a novice at engines and could really use some advice on what to try next.

Thanks,

Lance

I would start with a fresh fuel filter. You may want to check the pump for pressure and volume output, but a couple cranks with the coil disconnected and the line from the carb running into a can while briefly cranking will give you confirmation that the fuel pump is pumping a reasonable amount.

Vacuum leaks can cause surges by changing the vacuum advance. A vacuum gauge on the engine will tell you a lot. If you haven't used one try this guide. It is a cheap and very versatile tool

https://www.onallcylinders.com/2015/05/08/quick-tech-how-to-read-a-vacuum-gauge-to-pinpoint-engine-problems/

I am remembering (dating myself again) an issue back in the early eighties, that the fuel tank surge canisters had issues that caused surging. Of coarse, if all the factory emission control devices are still attached. Or possibly the tank venting or lack there of.

Just a few thoughts.....

Thanks, Jay