What's missing from my '72 coupe

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1972 mustang hardtop 351c 2v
Hey guys, picked up this '72 coupe with a 351c a few months back. This is my first attempt at a classic restoration. I have seen quite a few pictures of this year/model and most look like a true muscle car, however when I look at mine it almost looks like a completely different body style. Just wondering what's holding my car back, paint, wheels, ride height, trim, my ugly mug. Thanks all, any help is appreciated. 

Start with the wheels, black ain't cutting it IMO and are rear tires sticking outside the wheel wells? Picture of the rear tires makes it more 4 x 4 ish, but it could be the angle.

Last edited by a moderator:
I'll agree with the wheels. The centers just disappear and provide no depth. Even if you just matched them front and rear it would help.

IMO, a car doesn't have to be all jack-assed up in the rear like pic #1, with bits tacked all over it to look "musclecar". I prefer a more "purposeful" look, that's akin to "speak softly and carry a big stick".

What are you all planning to do to the car as far as restoration goes? As stated above, I'm not a fan of the wheels and tires. The white on the rockers does not look right, neither do the white stripes. As far as stance what are you looking for? I'm not a fan of the jacked up ass end. I prefer a lowered stance. If you are not repainting the car try buffing out the paint as it looks kind of dull in the photo and a goo shine will make it pop as well. If you are repainting the car as part of the restoration go with a color that pops that you like. Hope this helps.