Roof?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Arskov

Reaction score
My Car
73 Grande Coupe
Just bought a 73 Grande coupe, got her for $600. Only thing wrong with her is a rusty roof. I've been hunting high and low for a new roof and I can't find one anywhere. Anybody got a lead on a place that sells them, or a shop that can make one? I'm kind of new to the classics scene but I've always wanted an old muscle car like this, so I'm determined to make the old girl look like she just rolled off the assembly line again.

I tried to find new one to purchase, but could only find the Fastback roof available anywhere.

Junkyard roofs for the Grande Coupe may be just as bad or worse than your own IF you can even find one.

Custom metalwork and repairs may be the only way to go but also are VERY expensive.

Get ready to spend as much or probably more than you paid for the car. Good Luck.

Someone here might have a parts car that they could cut the roof off for you. I had a similar issue years ago and a member cut the chunk out that I needed and sent it to me.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk

It's hard to see in your flatbed pic, but it looks like the vinyl roof is torn off a bit. How bad is the roof, and is it out of the question to repair it? I think I have seen some message threads where people repaired a roof that even had some rust holes in it. If you could do that then the original roof wouldn't need to be cut off and a new one sectioned in. I think it would need some additional reinforcement from underneath if a repair is attempted, because even in good condition the roof metal will have some "give" to it. If the roof is like Swiss cheese then ok it's probably not a good idea to try and repair it.