Advice on PPG black paint for hood and lower side accents

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1972 Pantera Group IV
2003 FPV GT
Hello,

I have searched the forum to try and find this answer. No luck so far.

From looking at the PPG chart it seems PPG Black 9381 is correct. is that a matt paint?

If that is wrong, what PPG paint should be used for the hood black outs? is it just a matt finish or does something need to be sprayed over gloss black?

Is this the same colour used on the lower side accents also?

Thanks in advance

Hello,

From looking at the PPG chart it seems PPG Black 9381 is correct. is that a matt paint?

If that is wrong, what PPG paint should be used for the hood black outs? is it just a matt finish or does something need to be sprayed over gloss black?

Thanks in advance
Being an engineer I bet they used the matte finish to reduce glare off the hood. If you go with matte, don't wax it!

Hello,

Thanks in advance
Hi James,

I am an Aussie Pro Spraypainter, and can pass on some basic good advice to you here.

Firstly, Aussie paints are in many ways differant to American paints. (Even the same brands of paints would you believe).So buy Aussie available paints for yourself.

Secondly, spraying and achieving a nib free matt or semi gloss finish 'off the gun' is very much harder to achieve than spraying a full gloss black finish where in that case, you can denib, and then cut and polish the paint to perfection.Satins and matts can't be worked on(sanded or buffed or waxed) to remove nibs etc, without ruining the finished look.