Backup lights issue

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ryunker

Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mach1 351C
[url=https://ibb.co/fF5Ono][img]https://preview.ibb.co/dKMw7o/20180526_110612.jpg[/img][/url]
In the past two days I have focused on making this car drive, without law enforcement issues. Today at lunch, I successfully completed the turn signals along with brake lamps. So I have all of the lights good with exception of reverse lamps. Kind of a kick in the nuts as I repair cars for a living...

This car has one plug from the C6 NSS going up and connecting behind the left valve cover, NSS works fine as in the car will not start if it is not in park or neutral.

I have new bulbs in and they light when I apply power with a power probe in the trunk area. The harness that goes from the trunk back to the dash has only two 4pin connectors by the kick panel. I have reviewed the online wiring diagrams for 1971 posted on this wonderful site, but they do not match what is on the car.

Facts on hand,

1. The instrument cluster is not installed, have the tach plug jumped. 

2.There is three connectors coming down the steering column, one is not connected as I really do not know where it goes, like a four pin female flat one. I will get a photo of that one tomorrow.

3. This car has been in pieces close to two decades.

I am looking for direction as in where to physically find and trace power back to the reverse lights. On a good side, the wiring other than tape un-raveling, is un-molested every where I can see. So I am looking for direction to troubleshoot at the connectors as my goal is not to damage what may still be good.