Best way to check for vac leaks?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mustang_maria73

Reaction score
My Car
'73 q code convertible 4 spd

FYI, I am a true novice in the mechanical arena.  My friend with the mechanical expertise helped me replace spark plugs and wires then we rebuilt the carburetor.  Didn't do anything but adjust idle after reinstalling carb.  Car started fine and idled although we didn't run it long. Next day, I took the car about 4 miles to get gas, engine stuttered on drive. Seemed to run better at higher speeds.  Started fine when leaving station then died at light.  I finally got it restarted as light turned green.  Managed to get it back home but it wanted to die at low speed/idle. My friend suggested checking for vacuum leak.  He's in the midst of a job search so I don't want to keep bothering him.  I checked hoses with my eyes and hands, seem tight. Of note, a number of the hoses are plugged/capped off (that's the way she came to me).  I saw on line to check for leaks by spraying carb cleaner while running.  How big of a concern is fire when doing this?  Makes me a little leery to try it.  Also, looking at the carb, it appears wet at the bowl cover gasket. Any thoughts/suggestions?

If you didn't have this problem before rebuilding the carby then it will most likely be either a vacuum leak in this area or carby related

Firstly you say a fuel leak at the bowl gasket, I would fix this first, either you have a loose screw or a bad or misaligned gasket

If all your vacuum hoses check out then it could be at the carby mounting gasket

You can spray some carby cleaner or aerostart around the carby base and listen for the idle, if no change should be okay, if not then your base gasket could be leaking so just check your nuts are tight but don't over tighten them but you may still have to replace the gasket