Broken break bleeder….

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fredensborg

I like music, languages, weaponry, and freedom.
7173 Mustang Supporter Member
Reaction score
My Car
1973 Mach 1
1980 Bronco
A couple modern Fords
Well I got my new master cylinder in, but when I went to bleed the breaks, the bleeder nipple broke off in the caliper…can I do anything about this? Or do I now need new calipers?DE96BE89-E9CA-4501-A90B-FD6A43B4F7D1.jpeg

Attachments

• EF571F1C-3DC8-4F74-93BC-3F015623AE58.jpeg
    EF571F1C-3DC8-4F74-93BC-3F015623AE58.jpeg
    1.7 MB · Views: 3
Well I got my new master cylinder in, but when I went to bleed the breaks, the bleeder nipple broke off in the caliper…can I do anything about this? Or do I now need new calipers?View attachment 65446
Get a small, maybe 3/16" dia left hand drill bit and see if you can get the broken threaded bleeder part to back out as it is a right hand thread.

If it broke due to being seized an attempt to use an 'easy out' or other bolt extractor may prove unsuccessful. For the price of a replacement caliper I would opt to replace it. And do get the speed bleeders, makes it so much faster to bleed the brakes.

I’d hang on to everything…… rock auto or local parts store items come from all over the world, and while a close reproduction it seems none are perfect.
Comes down to what you want for your car.