Dash printed circuit

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
73 Grande will undergo three phase build process. Phase 1 is complete (driver). Phase 2 is interior/exterior restoration. Phase 3 is ++ performance.
I’m no expert, but I don’t think the dash printed circuit ribbon is suppose to look like this:

4BB9ABDB-F135-4EFC-B247-5C7782CC9EDD.jpeg

That circuit connects to this nut, looks like a ground (right above the part number to the right):

BF8DBE4F-8E8D-4B4E-A3FD-CF8C4F946EA0.jpeg

Here is the overall look from the back:

F08BEC10-77E5-4E03-9577-FEC78BB02418.jpeg

A few questions, is this a good replacement part from NPD:

https://www.npdlink.com/product/pri...2Bboard&top_parent=200001&year=1973&year=1973
I ask because I have zero experience working on dashes. I have the stock non tach dash, front view:

image.jpg

Do I replace the ribbon, voltage regulator, and ?? Also, are all of the light holes suppose to have lights in them? As you can see, quite a few are missing. Thanks, Steve.

The circuit that burned is power to the clock. Make sure you repair/replace that before installing another printed circuit.
Does the clock have a separate fuse you can pull to cut power to it? I don't know.

I have no first hand experience with using the NPD PCB, I have installed a couple for customers and never heard anything back, so I am going to guess they are okay.

Replacing the IVR is up to you. I would not use one of the new solid state units - find a good used OEM one. To test it connect a ground wire to the mounting tab, apply 12V to the side marked IGN and use an analog volt meter or test light to check the ACC side for blinking/pulsing power.