Front clip replacement on 1973 mustang fastback

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dakota

Reaction score
My Car
I am currently restoring a 1973 mustang mach 1
Has anyone ever replaced both left and right complete front frames , torque boxes , and upper and lower cowls ? Looking for some good solid advice on how to under take this job. I have 25 yrs experience in sheet metal repair on commercial aircraft . I have a lot if sheet metal tools. I just want this to be a father son project. I did have it at a body shop , unfortunately it sat there for a year with nothing happening. So i brought it back to my garage / shop .

It's a lot of work if you're willing to put the time and effort into it.. The torque boxes are thicker than most of the other sheetmetal components and there are additional spot welds behind them going into the floor and firewall. Most importantly is the measurements from the top of the cowl panel to each end of the radiator support. Lower rail height from a level floor is equally important for the front suspension to be symmetrical. All of these measurements can be obtained here on this site from the frame diagram. Insure there is no twist to the aprons as this would affect the alignment of the hood and fenders on final assembly.. You really don't want to do this job twice..

Thanks for the nod, Rio! Yes, I did swap the entire front clip on mine with lots of advice and cheerleading from the fine folks here. My firewall and floor pans (along with the cowl, as I later discovered) were bad as well. I think Dakota will have a better time of it with his sheet metal working experience, as I was kind of learning on the fly, fueled by sheer determination - I did have some skills, but not what would be considered optimal for taking on such a job and expecting it to all work out. But, one never knows until one tries, right?