Has anyone used the Sealed Power CS650 camshaft in their build?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ron Tanzi

Reaction score
My Car
1972 Ford Mustang Mach 1
I was wondering if anyone out there has used a Sealed Power CS650 in their Cleveland build. This cam is listed as a stock 4 barrel replacement (D2ZZ-6250-A) .This is the same cam as the D1ZZ-6250-A but ground 4* retarded.  I had bought it a couple of years ago before it became unavailable. I have been running a Comp cam since 2002 with basically the same lift and duration specs difference being the LSA is 110* for the Comp and 115* LSA for the SP650. The LSA of the SP650 is closer to the 117* LSA of the original Ford stock cam. I am pleased with Comp as far as power, my engine made 305 horsepower @4600 and 357 lb ft torque @3600 on the dyno. This was done with stock 2 barrel open chamber heads, Edelbrock performer  intake, stock manifolds and 600 cfm vac sec 4150 Holley. I degreed the cam when I installed exactly to the cam card.  The main issue I have with the Comp since the beginning has been that it has always sounded like a mechanical cam once the engine warmed up. I improved upon the noise issue early on by shit canning the Comp lifters and putting in a set of Crowers. This was after Comp gave me another free set of their lifters. Their lifters do suck. And yes, the pre-load is right on. Over the years I have spoken to many Comp cam owners that had the same problem. From what I understand is that the opening/closing ramp speed of these cams are aggressive and that causes the noisy operation. I have heard this complaint from Chevy and Mopar guys as well. Which brings me back to my main point of changing said cam.   Thanks everyone.  Ron

I haven't used it but I believe that is a reproduction of the 72 CJ cam. Might want to advance it 4 degrees if you want to maximize torque.