My Mustang Story

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1971 mustang Mach 1, 429CJ, J Code SOLD 3/2016

1971 Boss 351 Mustang
Medium Yellow Gold
From Kim Miller Collection
I told this story to Don and he encouraged me to tell my story to everyone. So here is my story of how I ended up here on the 71 73 Forum.

If you have not figured it out I am sort of seasoned. I graduated high school in May of 1972, May 19, 1972 to be exact. I remember the day well not just because I graduated but that was the day I took delivery of my 72 Mustang Mach 1. I went with my mother to the Ford dealership to place an order for my car a couple of months before. After many arguments with my Dad who wanted me to buy a Ford pickup. He finally relented and allowed me to trade the hand me down car I was driving, a 67 RS Camaro.

The Mach 1 just happened to come in of all days on the day I graduated making all 21 of my classmates think my parents "gave" me the car for graduation. They gave me the Camaro to trade. I paid $86.00 a month for three years for the new Mustang.

I ended up dating a beautiful girl in that Mach 1. She was two years behind me but we ended up getting married in 1973. We later moved from north Texas to Houston in 1975 where I got a job. We sold the Mach 1 in 1977 to a high school kid. I saw the car one more time about a year later and ended up stopping the kid to ask if he wanted to sell the car back. He said he would call me if he decided to sell but he never did. Never saw the car again.