New Computer: Woes and Raves

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

midlife

Shorts checker
Reaction score
My Car
No Mustangs at the moment.
I've been using a laptop as my primary computer since 2010, and it ran Windows XP.  It is a great workhorse, although some of the  keys are getting sticky (get your heads out of the gutters, you twits!).  I still run some old apps from 1998 (!!!) which won't work on Windows Vista and higher.  Since no one supports XP anymore, including FireFox, I figured it was time to upgrade.

I bought a Windows 10 box, and fired it up for the big transition Sunday afternoon, figuring it would take a good 2 days to get it to a fully functional state.  Yes, I am taking this week off, so I had plenty of time.  I managed to get all of my applications to load except two of them, which is pretty damn good!  I found Dos In a Box, which allows old games and DOS programs to run in a 64 bit environment.  I found a way of transferring my entire FireFox profile from the old machine to the new one, which saved an incredible amount of time and effort.

Both machines were running off of the same wireless network, but it was incredibly difficult to get the two computers to talk with one another.  The new machine could see the old one, but not vice versa.  I think the Windows Firewall on the new machine was the cause.  I transferred all of the data wireless over from the old to the new, keeping the same file structure.  I keep all my data separated from applications by partitioning the hard drive, so all the data is in its own partition.  That makes archiving and backups a whole-lot easier as well.