Opinions sought - get rid of my '71 and get '73 fastback for $4k?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
71-72 tail lights, dura-spark ignition cobbled together, starter relay moved, painted fan shroud, radiator duct on backwards, pront fenders where lower valance bolt up curved inward too far, wrong center caps on Magnums, '73's didn't have magnums, standard grille-not Mach I grill.
School me a bit here - even though I own one of these things, I'm a bit new at the details. I take it the '73 taillights don't have the black paint in the recess, correct? that is correct. The 73's have no black paint on the tail light housings.

Noted the fan shroud, no doubt. Cute touch putting the decal back on the painted shroud.

I don't see the duct though - probably my own ignorance as to what the duct is supposed to look like. Which picture, and what corner of the picture? The pic showing the top of the radiator, there's a rubber flap on the top of it. It should be on the frontmost top lip of the radiator covering the opening between it and the core support, to direct air thru the radiator for proper cooling.

I see what you mean about the front fenders. Wasn't there a discussion on this forum that had to do with a reproduction lower valance on the market that's an entire inch too narrow - in which case, someone might have banged the fenders inwards to suit?

These are just the quick things that caught my eye.
Is car serial number 3F05 0r 3F02?? My guess is 3F02F, Fastback with a 302.

Whole car looks to be pieced together to flip it. I'd pass unless other bodywork is top notch.
Have no idea as to the VIN (just sent him an email), but I don't expect it to be a Mach to begin with. Isn't that a 351 in there and not a 302 though? Deck height looks taller than a 302.

Pieced together, no doubt. Haven't seen it, so I can't pass judgement on the bodywork.