Pertronix Ignitor II with Factory Tach

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

scoot302

Active member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern California
My Car
'71 Mach 1
'72 Mach 1
I installed the Pertronix Ignitor II conversion in my distributor and have been having trouble getting my factory tach to read accurately. I installed it following Wolverine's wiring diagram (http://www.7173mustangs.com/thread-pertronix-wiring-diagram-for-tach-equipped-fords) but the tach was still jumping around. I called Pertronix and they told me to take out the Flamethrower 2 ignition coil I had in there and replace it with a "stock coil or a coil with the same primary resistance as stock".

So today I went down to the auto parts store and picked up 2 coils. The stock one they had:

(http://www.napaonline.com/Catalog/CatalogItemDetail.aspx?R=ECHIC10_0359708477)

Which has a 1.5 ohms primary resistance and 24,000 max voltage.

I also picked up a Flamethrower I that has a 1.5 ohms primary resistance and 40,000 max voltage.

I then tested them both out and each gave me the same results. The tach read smoothly with no jumping. However when I hooked up the timing gun to read actual RPM the tach was off. This is what it read:

Tach: 1,000 / Actual: 2,500

Tach: 2,000 / Actual: 3,300

Tach: 4,000 / Actual: 4,000

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I might do from here or where I went wrong?

 
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
8
Location
SoCal
My Car
73 Mustang Convertible
Born an I-6, spent the teenage, 20 and 30 years as a 302, but at 40 will reach full potential as a 351C.
Might you have a spare P2? Or, perhaps someone near you may have a spare you can swap out.

I have scoped a pair of P2's. The signal to the coil is interesting to say the least.

 
Last edited by a moderator:

scoot302

Active member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern California
My Car
'71 Mach 1
'72 Mach 1
I don't have a spare on hand. Do you really think that might be the issue? I was wondering if the problem might be with the tach it's self.

 
Joined
Jan 13, 2012
Messages
1,989
Reaction score
7
Location
Washington
My Car
1971 Mach1, 351 Cleveland, Ram Air (not factory), C6 Automatic, AM/8 Track, Bright Red.
I started with the Pertronix Ignitor III and Flamethrower coil, with a direct 12V connection, never could get he stock tac to function correctly plus had some starting issues. Did some rewiring tac functioned but was way off, finally went to the Petronix l and stock coil, using the original resistor wire....problems resolve with the tac, even started better, much better. You loose some of the functions the Ignitor lll offers over the l but do you really need them?

 

scoot302

Active member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern California
My Car
'71 Mach 1
'72 Mach 1
I started with the Pertronix Ignitor III and Flamethrower coil, with a direct 12V connection, never could get he stock tac to function correctly plus had some starting issues. Did some rewiring tac functioned but was way off, finally went to the Petronix l and stock coil, using the original resistor wire....problems resolve with the tac, even started better, much better. You loose some of the functions the Ignitor lll offers over the l but do you really need them?

I might as well go pick up an Ignitor I and see if that helps. Do you still need the 12v bypass wire with the I1 like the I2?

 
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
1,582
Reaction score
8
Location
SoCal
My Car
73 Mustang Convertible
Born an I-6, spent the teenage, 20 and 30 years as a 302, but at 40 will reach full potential as a 351C.
I don't have a spare on hand. Do you really think that might be the issue? I was wondering if the problem might be with the tach it's self.
1. Can you confirm you are getting 6V to the coil and 12V to the Pertronix?

2. You can always put in original points and see what happens.

3. With points I never had a tach issue regardless of the coil. You just have to be sure you are getting 6 volts at the points and the coil.

 

scoot302

Active member
Joined
Dec 21, 2010
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern California
My Car
'71 Mach 1
'72 Mach 1
I don't have a spare on hand. Do you really think that might be the issue? I was wondering if the problem might be with the tach it's self.
1. Can you confirm you are getting 6V to the coil and 12V to the Pertronix?

2. You can always put in original points and see what happens.

3. With points I never had a tach issue regardless of the coil. You just have to be sure you are getting 6 volts at the points and the coil.
I believe I was getting the right voltage when I tested it during the initial install. I have a new set of points so I will check the voltage again and test with points on Monday.

 
Joined
Jan 13, 2012
Messages
1,989
Reaction score
7
Location
Washington
My Car
1971 Mach1, 351 Cleveland, Ram Air (not factory), C6 Automatic, AM/8 Track, Bright Red.
I started with the Pertronix Ignitor III and Flamethrower coil, with a direct 12V connection, never could get he stock tac to function correctly plus had some starting issues. Did some rewiring tac functioned but was way off, finally went to the Petronix l and stock coil, using the original resistor wire....problems resolve with the tac, even started better, much better. You loose some of the functions the Ignitor lll offers over the l but do you really need them?

I might as well go pick up an Ignitor I and see if that helps. Do you still need the 12v bypass wire with the I1 like the I2?
You don't need the 12V bypass wire with the Petronix 1, you should use the resistor wire from the Tac, the Petronix 1 doesn't need the full 12Volts.

Jim

 

351c1971

Active member
Joined
Jul 3, 2022
Messages
25
Reaction score
20
Location
Bayville ,NJ
My Car
1971 Mach1
That has been my experience as well. I am very interested to hear from others. My understanding is that the resistor wire was designed to limit the current to the points and coil to prevent them from burning out.
 

Hemikiller

Well-known member
Staff member
7173 Mustang Supporter Member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 12, 2010
Messages
3,871
Reaction score
1,130
Location
Killingworth, CT
My Car
71 Mach 1
65 coupe
Does anyone know if keeping the resistor wire protects the P1 from burning out?

There's a discussion on the Pertronix going on currently, come over there for info.


FWIW, all Pertronix units should be run on full battery voltage, not resisted coil (+) voltage.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
2,760
Reaction score
362
Location
Washington Twp. Mi
My Car
1972 Mach 1 Q Code
Does anyone know if keeping the resistor wire protects the P1 from burning out?
Just don’t leave the key in the run position without the engine running for very long. You can have the key in the accessories position with no problem. I have the P1 in my car and have had no issues.
 

Latest posts

Top