PopsProject First Time Valve Cover Removal

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
73 Coupe, F Code 302 4V, C4, w/ AC
First, I’m a newbie, first post.  I recently retired and it’s been 30 years or more since I did any car work and then it was mostly GM products. I picked up a 73, 302 coupe for my grandson and I to work on.  It is supposedly a 55k mile car. We’ve replaced the original FoMoCo shocks and swapped the perfectly good single exhaust for duals.  Under the hood, it appears all original except someone has redirected some of the vacuum lines.

I stumbled over this thread and thought I would share.  The valve covers were leaking so I replaced the gaskets.
Question: I can find no documentation on red and orange valve springs.  Any ideas?

BTW, I have struggled with maintaining the originality under the hood vs. upgrades and finally caved in to my grandson’s ideas and my disappointment with the anemic, smog laden 302.  It will look different under the hood before the start of next year’s cruise season.

Thanks

Engine code.JPG

IMG_1030.jpg

IMG_1613.jpg