running Ram air scoops always open?

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

MustangNJ

VIP Members
Joined
Apr 7, 2019
Messages
286
Reaction score
11
Location
NJ
My Car
1990 Bronco, Eddie Bauer, 306ci
1978 F150 Ranger, 545 Stroker
1973 Mexican Mach 1 ( final confirmation TBD), 351C
[url=https://ibb.co/kqFMPqf][img]https://i.ibb.co/GCjFrCL/pic1.jpg[/img][/url]
is anyone running their ram air scoops without the dummy plates, but without installing the actuated ram air doors?  I was thinking about just removing the ram air dummy plates to get more airflow over the engine for cooling.  my only concern is debris and water getting in.  I don't drive the car in the rain( I don't any hvac)....  does someone sell simple screens that replace the dummy plates?  thanks

 
Joined
Dec 28, 2014
Messages
2,595
Reaction score
241
Location
Washington Twp. Mi
My Car
1972 Mach 1 Q Code
I thought about doing the same. I was gonna make my own screens to replace the block offs. But I was concerned about the air pressure wanting to lift the hood. And if I get caught in the rain sometime, that sure would make a mess under hood if driving in it.

 

Don C

Fords Forever
Joined
Jan 1, 2012
Messages
7,913
Reaction score
696
Location
Springfield, OR
My Car
1971 Mustang Sportroof M code
Running with hood scoops open will not help cool the engine. In fact, it's liable to have the opposite effect, causing air pressure to increase under the hood, and reducing airflow through the radiator.

 

turtle5353

VIP Members
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
3,420
Reaction score
248
Location
PA
My Car
1971 Mach 1 Mustang
I haven’t had mine in my hood for 15 years or more. No ill effects. I don’t think it helps any either. I just never reinstalled mine after painting because one of the tabs broke.

 

72MustangSprint

VIP Members
Joined
Jan 12, 2012
Messages
1,061
Reaction score
31
Location
Tenn
My Car
1972 Mustang Sprint coupe
NACA hood I bought has the plates off, haven’t noticed any negative effects

 

kcmash

VIP Members
Joined
Sep 2, 2012
Messages
1,428
Reaction score
89
Location
Blue Springs, MO
My Car
1971 Mach 1, Grabber Blue w/Argent stripes. Original 2V 351C Auto, Tilt, rear defog, Black Comfortweave Interior. Under restoration. Original colors, 4V 351C, 4-Speed, Spoilers, Magnums, Ram Air. All Ford parts.
The thing to watch for with the scoop block plates out is primary hood latch failure .  The Chrome twist locks do help take the stress off the primary.

I know this first hand.  Running mine fast on the highway all the time in High School I saw my primary latch starting fail and had a buddy lose his hood on the highway the same way.

kcmash

 

Widowmaker00

VIP Members
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
999
Reaction score
8
Location
North Carolina
My Car
1972 Mustang Sportsroof
2010 Mustang GT
Always ran mine open. Was hoping to help it run cooler. Didn't really help. Plenty of 100+ mph time and didnt ever think the hood was going to fly off or anything like that.

I did however, get stranded one night because it was pouring rain and the water coming into the engine bay shorted the coil.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk

 

OzCoupe72

VIP Members
Joined
Nov 15, 2016
Messages
650
Reaction score
14
Location
Australia
My Car
1972 Mustang Coupe 302 Auto RHD
I cut the blanks out and put in a grille, no problems and no overheating issues, just crank issues LOL

Our XB falcons use an open scoop from factory, hood locks or not - see pic below

Don't care if it helps or hinders, I just like the cooler air for the intake



 

droptop73

VIP Members
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jul 5, 2010
Messages
6,390
Reaction score
181
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
My Car
73 Convertible
It won't help or hurt anything. I've been running them open for over 20 years with many long distance road trips. The only downside I can see is road grime from running in the rain if that matters to you, it doesn't bother me.

 
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
3,377
Reaction score
377
Location
Madison, WI
My Car
1971 M-Code Mach 1 w/408C stroker
I installed a solenoid activated vacuum shutoff to control the RAM air flapper manually. If the solenoid is activated it cuts vacuum and the flapper stay open all the time. If the solenoid is deactivated then it works directly with vacuum. I mounted the switch under the dash.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G930A using Tapatalk

 

Widowmaker00

VIP Members
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
999
Reaction score
8
Location
North Carolina
My Car
1972 Mustang Sportsroof
2010 Mustang GT
I've often thought it would be cool to have some sort of mechanical cable setup where it opens and closes the flaps with throttle input the same way a bugatcher scoop does. Would just be for cool factor I suppose.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk

 

Robsweden

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
450
Reaction score
74
Location
Sweden
My Car
Mach 1 73 351c
I just drilled them, small holes in the pattern.

 

Mister 4x4

Too Big to Sneak
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
8,033
Reaction score
244
Location
San Angelo, Texas
My Car
1971 Mustang Mach 1
I suppose mine's in a similar boat - Ram Air ducts 'frozen' open (since mine's an original Ram Air car, but the actuators are non-functional).  I currently still don't have the Ram Air air cleaner installed, so the air is basically going thru the openings and dumping right above the air cleaner (I do have the plenum and everything else installed).

No issues at speed - although I do have hood locks.

 

Mister 4x4

Too Big to Sneak
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 12, 2010
Messages
8,033
Reaction score
244
Location
San Angelo, Texas
My Car
1971 Mustang Mach 1
I've often thought it would be cool to have some sort of mechanical cable setup where it opens and closes the flaps with throttle input the same way a bugatcher scoop does. Would just be for cool factor I suppose.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
That would be pretty cool.  Would you hook it up to something like a manual choke slider in the cab, or find a way to hook it up to the carb linkage so it would cycle as the carb's butterflies do?

 

Widowmaker00

VIP Members
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
999
Reaction score
8
Location
North Carolina
My Car
1972 Mustang Sportsroof
2010 Mustang GT
I've often thought it would be cool to have some sort of mechanical cable setup where it opens and closes the flaps with throttle input the same way a bugatcher scoop does. Would just be for cool factor I suppose.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
That would be pretty cool.  Would you hook it up to something like a manual choke slider in the cab, or find a way to hook it up to the carb linkage so it would cycle as the carb's butterflies do?
I was thinking attached to the carb linkage to open when the butterflies do. I dont know, maybe I'll see what I can fabricate when the time comes.
I just know that on engines with big cams that dont produce a lot of vacuum, the flaps probably won't work correctly.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk

 
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Messages
3,377
Reaction score
377
Location
Madison, WI
My Car
1971 M-Code Mach 1 w/408C stroker
I've often thought it would be cool to have some sort of mechanical cable setup where it opens and closes the flaps with throttle input the same way a bugatcher scoop does. Would just be for cool factor I suppose.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
That would be pretty cool.  Would you hook it up to something like a manual choke slider in the cab, or find a way to hook it up to the carb linkage so it would cycle as the carb's butterflies do?
I was thinking attached to the carb linkage to open when the butterflies do. I dont know, maybe I'll see what I can fabricate when the time comes.

I just know that on engines with big cams that dont produce a lot of vacuum, the flaps probably won't work correctly.

Sent from my LM-G820 using Tapatalk
The way they work from factory is that vacuum will close them and no vacuum will open them. So when they engine is off they are "normally" open and when you start they will close. So if you have no vacuum they will be open all the time. I have no idea what is the minimum vacuum they need to open but i don't think it is much. Mine has worked with 10" vacuum.

 

Latest posts

Top