What mods to driveline and suspension are critical if adding 140 hp to a stock 71 coupe

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1971 coupe
So I recently bought a 71 coupe ( 302 2bl / c4 / 2.69 8” rear end / front disc / power steer) that hasnt been run in years but has no bondo, surface rust in obvious areas, paint is a horrible color and shot, BUT it is completely numbers matching to the tag on the carb. I’m not a professional body/paint upholstery and would obviously keep every part i takeoff. My issue is that despite A numbers matching good shape car it isn’t worth that much. That being said I’d like to add HP and driveability without destroying the original value, i.e not drilling and hacking in case someone down the road would like to bring it back to original.
what are the forum pros advice on ways to do this. Can I put in a 370 hp blueprint 302 with a TKX and a new axle and upgrade a suspension package that doesn’t involve machining or welding to the car? I also don’t want to twist the car in half either, is there a middle ground?
please, any and all comments are appreciated.0D6E8404-5DF2-4F17-93AA-69F9988CF166.jpeg

Howdy and welcome from Texas!

Your mods are very reasonable and will make for a fun car. There are plenty of suspension upgrades you can do that are pretty much bolt on -- sway bars, springs, shocks, etc. I would recommend subframe connectors, but they require some welding.

Driveline upgrades are covered in your list with the exception of the differential. With the 5-speed I'd recommend a 3.50:1 gear with traction lock or better.

One other thing to address is a brake upgrade. If you're running drums up front you will want to upgrade to disc brakes. Others will recommend discs all around, which is good, but the front disc/rear drum arrangement works well on the street.

Keep us posted on your progress!