What would you do?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

7mach1

Reaction score
My Car
71 M code
My 71 Mach 1 351 4v driver has been considered totaled ☹️ The frame slightly bent, problem w trans, gas tank seeps, minor body damage, etc. I will be able to keep it, but with a salvage title. Is it better to fix it or sell as a parts car?
All comments and opinions are welcome.
Also, I’m not a mechanic, so I would have to pay for most repairs.

John

John, we need to know more before a decision can be rendered. When you ask the fix or sell question, we need to know your plans for using the car; from weekend cruiser to as much as daily driver; do you want to drag or track race it? Also, if you could include pics of the damage from the accident and what other life-damage does it have in pics too.

Hi Steve. Thanks for your reply.
The car is residing at the body shop and they’re closed on weekends.
No racing, just like to drive whenever I get a chance, but not really a daily as I have a work truck for that. Would like to take trips up to 200 miles about 4 times a year.

John, I'm sorry to read this news. You are definitely at a crossroads and I hate that you're having to make this decision. A very, very tough question to answer since I don't know you or the car. But, I have a checklist I go thru when I buy/sell a car and I guess it would apply here too. Or, at least food for thought. Maybe answering a few of these will provide a clearer picture for you.

1. Do you truly value its sentimental value
2. Replacement value vs value in the payoff
3. Time & effort to replace the car
4. Is it 100% repairable
5. Is it 100% safe to drive once repaired
6. Can you absorb the 40% hit on a rebuilt/salvage title in an emergency sell

Just a jump off place - like I said, that is a tough decision especially since the current 71-73 market has been so crazy lately.