New Engine for Grande

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1971 M-code Grande
Thanks Don :D

A couple of months ago my 351C 4V '71 Grande with toploader developed a crack in the water jacket between cylinders 3 and 4. The crack was not in a good location to sleeve. My first thought was to scrap the car but we have spent too much time and money fixing it up already. Second thought was to drop in a 427. This M-code Grande came with the competition suspension package disk brakes and variable power steering so it could handle that engine; but, it would not be "original". Next thought was to get a short block or bare block and rebuild, that is a lot of work. Don from OMS read about my problem on this forum and told me he may have a fix. I have been doing business with Don for a few years buying new and "used" parts for this Grande's restoration so I knew he had parts, But I did not know he had PARTS. Below is a picture of where this engine was "hiding", somewhere under the rack of doors and behind the C6 tranny still sitting on a pallet and wrapped in plastic from the machine shop.

001 (9).jpg

Don sent several pictures and told me what he knew about this engine, actually a long block 351C 4V with matching casting numbers period correct for my car and did I mention a cam :p

005 (7).jpg