What should I look for first ?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1972 Mustang Sprint Sportsroof
My new Mustang has only 900 miles on her since March of 2007. I have put 52 on her. When I accelerate the engine instantly bogs down almost to the point of shutting down. Even a small amount of pedal bogs the engine down. I made it home and was wondering what to look at first. Any thoughts? Thank you!

My new Mustang has only 900 miles on her since March of 2007. I have put 52 on her. When I accelerate the engine instantly bogs down almost to the point of shutting down. Even a small amount of pedal bogs the engine down. I made it home and was wondering what to look at first. Any thoughts? Thank you!
I'm no expert but the first thing I would look at is the carb. It could be sucking air or just gummed up from old gas?

I'm sure someone else here will have better tips for you!

well I replaced the fuel filter.....it was filthy, ton of stuff in there. I am going to install new Plug wires, voltage regulator, (From Marti's), points, etc and see if that helps. Wouldn't surprise me if the gas is dirty.....I hadn't thought of that! Thank you!

Could be a lot of rust in the fuel tank and lines; you may want to install a glass fuel filter to monitor what is coming through. Your new fuel filter could get clogged up in just a few miles if there is a lot of crude in the tank!

May I suggest running a fuel filter before the fuel pump and one before the carb in the conventional place. The filter before the pump should catch most of the crap. Have you replaced the fuel? The car will run like poo with old / bad fuel.

If there is that much in it, you might as well pull the tank, drain it and look in there with a flashlight. you will need a new sock on the tank gauge pick up as well. Or, you can keep fighting it till it strands you.