issue with tuning holley carb/ 351c running rough

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

87fox72mach

Reaction score
My Car
1995 firebird rebuilt motor 5 spd dail driver
1987 grand wagoneer plow truck
1987 mustang lx 5.0 work custom engine bay and paint
1972 mach 1 project
hey guys finally got my car started up and running sort of. been tinkering with it for a few weeks and having issues getting it to run smooth

1.) im new to carbs, before my generation but im slowly beginning to understand the basics.

2.) my engine is a 351c 4v closed chamber heads comp cam hyrdraulic flat tappet cam. intake yadda yadda holley 750 cfm mechanical choke vacuum secondary carb brand new. everything in fuel system is brand new.

3.) after playing around a bit i get the car to run roughly with choke half open. as soon as i close choke completely car dies out shuts off. ive played with the mixture screws according to holley, all the way in. then 1.5 turns out. ok. pulled my plugs before the adjustment they are all carboned up. cleaned them put them back in. few days of messing with it. pull one again carboned up. ok so carboned plugs = rich mixture? my plugs are autolite 24. gapped at .35. now my timing should be very close intitally had it set at tdc and advanced it a bit. my timing light is broken and waiting on a replacement. but i also cant see how to see the timing marks on the pulley past all the accessories etc. most cars ive had ive tuned by ear and feel of throttle. ive tried advancing the timing either way a bit and no real changes occur. if anything doesnt run as well. if i give the car throttle and hold it higher seems to run a bit better but still some missfiring/ roughness. i have a mallory coil, msd plug wires, and mallory unitlite dizzy with new cap rotor and pickup module