New to the Mustang world

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarkH71

Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mustang Coupe driver not a show car
Hi, I’m new to the Mustang world. I did have a 75 Ghia back yrs ago when I was in my teens and actually loved the old car. Now I have a recently purchased a 1971 mustang 2 dr coupe, I’m not familiar with the different types and the one I’ve bought is in pretty bad shape but I plan to get it on the road as a driver. I always liked this body style so that’s why I went with this one versus a 60’s style. It was cheap so I wasn’t expecting much but have a long way to go. Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_1722.jpeg
    7.1 MB · Views: 4
  • IMG_1721.jpeg
    5.8 MB · Views: 4
Howdy from Phoenix! You've stumbled on a great place to learn and ask questions. There are a few slight differences between the 71/72 and the 73 but for the most part everything is interchangeable.

Welcome from So Cal. From the photo, it looks like it’s missing the engine. What’s the story on the purchase? Interior pics please.
I bought it off marketplace, the guy was useing it for a race car and blew the engine. There are no seats in it besides a racing seat for the driver so I’m looking for some online. Seems there’s not many out there and they are in bad shape if you do find them. The dash and door panels and carpet is in the car but the steering column is a mess so I’ll have to find one of those also. He said it has 4:11 gears with locker in rear. There’s bracing that’s been welded underneath that looks like it could have been done better. That’s about all I know about it.. I’ll post more pics as I go along I’m sure it’s going to be a long expensive task to get it road worthy. Thanks