ahh Hell no power

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

71/351c/darkhorse

Reaction score
My Car
i have a 1971 grande coupe with a 351 Cleveland 2 barrel motor. she was half way fixed up now looking to do the rest.
Ok guys/gals. I need a BIG hand here. I'm a newbie and not afraid to learn but... of course the occasional mess up. I have a 71 Grande with the 351C 2barrel motor. i was going to put on the edel 2750 intake for a quick change to a 4 barrel. Well all was going well, to well, until i went under the dash to put the positive lead for the electric choke. The (I'm guessing here) ground bolt right in the middle of the fuse box was out about half and inch with a spring showing. Tried as i might i could not get it back up. When i move the the fuse box i lose everything lights, ignition, dash, i mean everything. Any help would be great. How can i get the fuse box down to fix or back up to reground.

If I'm not mistaken, the bolt in the panel is to pull the outer and inner halves together on the firewall (no ground on the panel) sounds to me like the two are separated, and need to be plugged back in to each other, then the bolt tightened to hold them together.

I cant tell you how long i spent down there. A 6'4" guy contorting in there is pretty hilarious by the way. Any clue how to get them back together? Or should i take it down to inspect it, if thats the case how the hell do i get it out?

It's a bit easier to take out the driver's seat and lay on the floor boards upside down. You can pretend you're in Oz-land.

wow well hmm im gonna pretend like i thought of that myself midlife. anyone had this problem before? or heard of it?

This site covers the whole spectrum of people from A-grade Doofus's to the pleasantly ignorant to the regular monkey wrenches to the inspiring!