FMX TRANSMISSION ISSUES

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ALLWELD488

Reaction score
My Car
1972 MUSTANG CONVERTIBLE
Well, im new to this so bear with me abit,My problem is when i shift from part to drive the fmx tranny shifts so hard it kills the engine,if i keep my foot on the gas it helps but then it shifts so hard it engages and then just sits there spinning the tires in one place until i let my foot off brake.is there any way to adjust this thing. here is what i have, 1972 convertible with fmx tranny, 351 cleveland (stock) except for 4 barrel intake and 600 edelbrock and hei distributor , i checked vacuum its at 18, timing is at about 12 with vac unplugged, idle is at about 800 in park, now hear is the issue, this car sat since 1996 and it took all of about an hour to get it running, but it runs and drives great except for the stalling issue, any thoughts?

Sounds like your torque converter may be shot. The torque converter should "slip," allowing your car to idle without turning your drive shaft until you get into higher RPMs.

Vacuum Modulator on the transmission may be bad. That creates a vacuum leak. You tuned and set the idle to compensate, but when vacuum drops as a result of opening the throttle plates, the fuel falls out of suspension and the car bogs or dies. I'd bet it is a vacuum leak-if not at the modulator, then at the intake manifold or under the carb or a cracked hose somewhere.