Phoenix Area Support?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greghen

Reaction score
My Car
1973 Mustang Convertible
I am relatively new to working on cars. Starting to do some simple projects on my 73 vert but need to do some larger projects. I need my full suspension (front and back) redo. Something a bit more then I think I can do on my own.

Here is my question. Any fellow members in the Phoenix area that can suggest a good shop to work with or maybe someone handy that I could work with to learn how to do some of this work?

I have an estimate from a very highly recommended shop but I am not sure it is a fair price. I took a look at the parts list and notice that most of them were much higher in cost than I could get the parts for. So I open up this thread for 2 thinks.

1) Local help/mentor recommendation for a newbie.

2) Take a look at the estimate (names are blocked to protect the innocent) and let me know if you think it's a fair quote for the work.

Thanks!

S Quote001.pdf

Attachments

• S Quote001.pdf
    49.6 KB · Views: 34
It seems kind of high at first glance. His time breakdown is reasonable and his hourly rate seems good. As for the parts it looks like he is using goos quality stuff. Shops do mark up parts prices when they sell to the consumer. All in all it does not look like he is trying to take advantage. This is why I do all my own work. If there is a Mustang club in your area or a group of hot rodders there are always folks willing to lend a hand.

Hey greghen,

Kudo's for trying to figure out how to get it done and learn how. Maybe you could start with something you can do that's easy.

I'd recommend starting with the front brakes and wheel bearings. It's probably a weekend job or less for a novice.

Wheel Bearings

Rotors

Calipers

Brake Pads