Hot Start Issue

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BDK

Reaction score
My Car
1971 MACH 1
OK Guys, need some help here. Have a newly rebuilt 351C with Edelbrock intake, Holley 600CFM with vacuum advance and electric choke, roller cam, roller rockers, 9.5:1 comp. Pertronix Ignitor I, and bored .030 over.

My Issue: Car will start wonderfully when cold, quick 2 presses and then she is off and running. Let her warm up and have normal operating temp and then shut off. Try and start when hot/warm she attempts to crank but really problematic, hardly turns over and jerky.

What I have done: I'm not a pro at carb tuning, or timing for that matter, and have used a vacuum gauge to set the timing. Pulling about 15" at 1250 RPM and adjusted the idle mixture screws to just start having the engine die then backing off about 1/8 to 1/4 turn. Idles well now and all is good until I shut her off, then the restart is an endeavor. I've replaced the Ford coil with a Pertronix Flamethrower coil, replaced plug wires, replaced plugs, covered the starter with a heat shield blanket all with no change to the issue. The other slight issue (not sure if related) is when I floor it she hesitates for a second and then takes off. I've replaced the accelerator pump nozzle by jumping up 3 sizes (Holley recommended) but no difference here as well.

Really in a bind and hate to keep throwing parts at an issue that is kicking my butt. Any clues? Could the Pertronix be bad, why would it start fine when cold if so?

ANY help is greatly appreciated.....

BDK

To you have the Pertronix chip under the distributor cap or the points and condenser.

I did have trouble with Pertronix chip and a similar starting issue. The chip actually shorted out!!!

To you have the Pertronix chip under the distributor cap or the points and condenser.