Paint prep

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1972 Sport Roof
Alright guys and gals, I've never done any body prep or painting before. I probably won't spray the paint on myself, but I'm pretty mechanically savvy so I should be able to do the prep work myself. The body is straight and in pretty good condition with only some pinholes in the rear quarterpanels. You can't see the pinholes from the outside, but you can see light from inside the trunk.

So, any suggestions on how to fill the pinholes and with general body prep? Maybe suggestions on technical resources that may help me out? I've heard I can't wet sand bondo (if required), so should I bondo, dry sand, then prime and wet sand?

Last, is it necessary to remove all the interior stuff (along with the windows and trim) before paint, or is it realistic that I can cover up the interior with plastic?

Thanks!

Alright guys and gals, I've never done any body prep or painting before. I probably won't spray the paint on myself, but I'm pretty mechanically savvy so I should be able to do the prep work myself. The body is straight and in pretty good condition with only some pinholes in the rear quarterpanels. You can't see the pinholes from the outside, but you can see light from inside the trunk.

So, any suggestions on how to fill the pinholes and with general body prep? Maybe suggestions on technical resources that may help me out? I've heard I can't wet sand bondo (if required), so should I bondo, dry sand, then prime and wet sand?

Last, is it necessary to remove all the interior stuff (along with the windows and trim) before paint, or is it realistic that I can cover up the interior with plastic?

Thanks!
Q, is our resident expert in these cases.