351C Timing cover

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mchandford

Reaction score
My Car
'71 Mustang Mach 1 "M" Code. 351C and 4 speed toploader.
Would like to get people's thoughts on the 351C timing cover.

Last March I had the pleasure of worrying about my brand new (to me) '71 Mach 1. I had coolant in my engine oil and needed to find out why. I am not a mechanic so I had a shop take a look at it. After scratching our heads for about 4 days a crusty old tech got the good idea to check the timing cover behind the water pump. Turns out the cover had a 1/4" hole in it right behind the water pump. So I struggled to find a good one in little ol' Sandpoint, ID. turns out most parts stores don't carry this part. What's up with that? I talked to a performance shop in town and the proprietor said he had some (as in more than one) He sold me the best looking one for $20 bucks. I had the part put in and lo-and-behold... it was warped and would not seal.

Here comes my question: what do you guys think of aftermarket aluminum timing covers for the 351C? The only replacement I could find in my jam was one made of billet aluminum and it cost me $85. After a week for shipping it was installed at the shop and got me back on the road. I don't like how they sealed the cover. Blue RTV I think. They didn't clean it up like I would have, and I had to bring the car back to have all the bolts tightened 3 months later.

I am wondering if anyone has used an aluminum cover and if so have you had any issues? Should I plan to replace this and if so what is the best way to get it to seal better?

Hello mchandford,

Dude, I did not know that there was an aluminum 351C Timing cover available. I did a Google search and found a steel one from Summit Racing.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SES-5-65-04-201 $128.95