73 351C water pump

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1973 Mustang Convertible
Modified 351C - Ram Air
[url=https://ibb.co/nHuFMR][img]https://preview.ibb.co/mjKh1R/IMG_5067.jpg[/img][/url]
Some help here guys please. I’m replacing my water pump and now that I have it off, is it necessary to replace the timing chain cover plate? I’m not a mechanic, I have been learning on the fly since I bought the Mustang. Please see attached picture and let me know your thoughts. Thank you!

Attachments

• IMG_1971.jpeg
    IMG_1971.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 8
Lots of pitting at the top area Andy. You definitely don't want leaks/seepage on the front plate. Time to replace it.
Thank you and I thought that might be the response. Is it a hard job to replace? Getting the water pump off was not a picnic.

Thank you and I thought that might be the response. Is it a hard job to replace? Getting the water pump off was not a picnic.
It depends on who put it on. In addition to what you've already removed, you need to take off the timing pointer, another bolt, the front pulley, and the harmonic balancer. It will come down to what sort and how much of adhesive the previous guy used to get it unstuck from the block.
Most likely it wont be that bad.

Reinstalling may be a bit of a trick. The crank goes through the timing cover. You want to put the front stuff back on and use that to get the cover centered around the crank. That way it seals up better and you dont get a leak. And then you get to re-seal the oil pan since that seals up against the bottom of the timing cover.