Compression test advice needed

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crzyfun

Reaction score
My Car
a '72 mach 1 convertible
Hi all!

So over the weekend I did a compression test on my '72 vert. 1-4 were all pretty much exactly at 120 PSI. 6-8 were at 110 or 115 PSI, but 5 was at 90 PSI. I even did it twice just to be sure. It held steady at 90 PSI.

I'm a total newbie to all this but I recall reading that the next thing to do is squirt a bit of oil in it and do the test again, which will help determine why the compression is so low. But it was pretty late at that point and dinner was getting cold, so I stopped.

My question is: it's now been a couple of days... should I just do a compression test on that one cylinder cold (with a squirt of oil)? Or maybe do a pre-squirt test again (while cold) then a post-squirt test?

Seems like a lot of work to put all the spark plugs back in just to warm it up to then take them all out just to test one?

I welcome advice!

Also, why are the spark plugs so hard to get to? Especially 5-8 were really tricky to get the socket wrench in, and then really really tricky to get the threaded compression nozzle (head? whatever you call it). Maybe there's some trick to it that I don't know. And while I understand the importance of doing it warm, that means I'm reaching in & around the engine block while it's warm (read: hot!). Oy.   :-/ :shootself:

-Dan

CrazyFun!

This model much easier than some to get to plugs. Some of the FE engine mustangs you had to take motor mounts loose and jack the engine up to get them out.