Detroit locker issues

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flstf09

Reaction score
My Car
72 Mach 1 429 CJ
Does anybody have any experience with Detroit Lockers?.I'm having an issue with a very loud banging noise on shifts.It usually doesn't happen on the 1-2 shift ,usually only happens on the 2-3 shift.Usually only "pops" on low speed low throttle shift.Usually doesn't do it under hard acceleration but it will occasionally. I've talked with the company that built the third member and they think it's normal for a Detroit locker to do that...I don't buy that.This is not a mild pop,it's a hard bang.Locker seems to be functioning fine,ratchets when turning and both axles lock when straight.

I have limited experience with them, I had one in an old truck I built. It was nosiey and clunky, but I don't remember any loud bangs or anything like that.

I guess the shop that did it isn't local? Was the diff new?

In my experience I never really heard anything- my truck was so loud and wheel-hopped so bad that any noise was drowned out. I only noticed some mild popping noises and felt it disengaging at low speeds.

Sorry to not be much help. If you can, take somebody who has some experience for a ride and let them weigh in...

I had one in my bronco II with a 9 " and it was very noisey. Banging and clunking all the time. Everytime I was on throttle / off throttle it would bang and clunk. It never let me down though. And I was running 35 Inch super swampers on it.

I've had two. Both had some clunking, especially when going from loads to unloaded (coast). Also both had a ratcheting sound going around corners. I don't recommend them for daily use. If your are driving around with drag radials looking for your next victim in a drag race, they are great. It is hard to say if the noises you have are "normal".

Here is a screen capture from the Eaton site.