Fuel Additives

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Heavy Metal

Reaction score
My Car
1973 Mustang Convertible
302 C4
[url=https://ibb.co/mVhg5o][img]https://preview.ibb.co/eJbkWT/Lot.jpg[/img][/url]

[url=https://ibb.co/mVhg5o][img]https://preview.ibb.co/eJbkWT/Lot.jpg[/img][/url]
Hello,

I'm looking for some ideas on fuel additives. Our gas sucks here in South Carolina with ethanol and looking for suggestions.
During the summer heat my Edelbrock 1406 vapor locks and is no fun trying to go for a drive.
I'm looking for a fuel conditioner more than a octane booster. Although both would be sweet.
Thank you for your suggestions.

I'm no expert here by a loooong shot, but I did do some research on the good ol' net into Octane boosters a while back. What I found and you will to if you search, is that most boosters hardy do anything. You first need to research what octane is to understand it and it gets complicated, for my brain anyway. I know some are better than others, but basically a waste of money.
What I use is SeaFoam as it seems to be a good stabilizer and general additive. It can't hurt anything as far as I can see. I do not use it all the time, usually at storage time or a couple of times a year to "clean" the fuel system. (my fuel lines are SS and all rubber tubing is Injector grade as it's ethanol resistant)
As far as Ethanol is concerned, we are pretty much all stuck with that crap. Someone did a great job of convincing government morons that it is a good thing for the environment, but imo, it is just a way to water down gasoline to make it go further and make more money!!