Identify my carb…?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mach 1, Dark Green Metallic
2-door SportsRoof, 351C-2V V-8
This is a remanufactured Holley carb. The sticker identifies list # 3489 with e4-5024 following it. This should be a Holley 4160 I believe, but there is no transfer tube. I’m a newbie so any help identifying this is appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_1135.jpeg
    IMG_1135.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 2
  • IMG_1134.jpeg
    IMG_1134.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_1133.jpeg
    IMG_1133.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_1032.png
    IMG_1032.png
    2.2 MB · Views: 1
That's an Autolite 4300A. There should be an ID stamping on the driver's front mounting lug. Post that info and we can tell you what it's application is.

Holley remanufactured all manner of manufacturer's carbs over the years.

autolite carb id stamp.JPG

i am a newbie also. i have been dealing with this lately. i do recognize your carb as an Autolite 4300. Autolite was used on 1971 and earlier cars. motorcraft on 72 and later cars. there is a code stamped onto the base that tells you what application that it was intended for. the code tells you what model year of vehicle that it was on. also tells what engine and transmission that was meant for. the carb wouldve been tuned for a specific car with a particular engine and transmission. with or without ac. in my case, i am trying to locate an autolite 4300 carb that is stamped with D1OF-FA. for my 1971 Grande with 351c 4v and c6. in my case the first two digits D1 tells me D=1970's . 1 = 1971. the other numbers still confuse me. but i do know that they relate to my engine and transmission. see photo. i would love to know (as would other members here) the number code that is stamped onto it.
IMG_0639.jpg

Last edited: