Need help with charging A/C system

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all. I have limited knowledge of the A/C system. I'm working on a 72 system. I replaced the expansion valve, compressor, dryer, and condenser. I blew through the evaporator with compressed air but did not flush it. I did this about three months ago but I can't remember if the air came through totally freely. I also blew through the hoses. The system has a quick disconnect valve that is original. I did not take it apart but I did replace the o ring. I took the car to Express Oil and they evacuated the system but they were unable to get R131A Freon into the system. They said only about 1/3 of the Freon went in. There was no cooling. The High side pressure was 200 and Low side was 165. What are the possible causes of this problem, and what should be my next step? I'm afraid the evaporator may have a partial blockage or that the quick disconnect valve may be stuck. I'm fixing to remove the expansion valve (which is a major pain in the ass), and trying to flush the evaporator. I'm also considering taking the quick disconnect valve apart and cleaning it. Also, I think I have hoses from a 73 that don't have the disconnect valve that I can swap out to eliminate that problem. Thanks. Kevin.

Attachments

• IMG_0118.jpg
    IMG_0118.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0119.jpg
    IMG_0119.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0121.jpg
    IMG_0121.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0122.jpg
    IMG_0122.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0