Subframe connectors

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1972 H code fastback Boss 351 clone
I just bought a set of the Global subframe connectors. Can I weld them in with the back end lifted by the differential? Should be the same as sitting on its wheels right? I am a welder by trade so I know I can get them welded in, but dont want to put them in wrong! Thanks!!

I just bought a set of the Global subframe connectors. Can I weld them in with the back end lifted by the differential? Should be the same as sitting on its wheels right? I am a welder by trade so I know I can get them welded in, but dont want to put them in wrong! Thanks!!
Yes, you want the weight of the car on the rear axle. When I did mine I had the same questions and that was what I was told. I used Tinman but they should be the same procedure.

Yes, you want the weight of the car on the rear axle. When I did mine I had the same questions and that was what I was told. I used Tinman but they should be the same procedure.
And the front by the tires?

Mine was on a drive-on lift, axle lifted on a rolling center jack (so I could get into the rear wheelwell openings). I think what you're taking about should be just fine.

subframeconnectors1.jpg

Hope that helps.

(don't critique my very un-pretty welds, though rofl )

JBojo, Which rear sway bar do you have installed in your car? I have the Addco 3/4" and haven't put it in yet because I'm not sure if I'm going to want it. I put the 5 leaf rear springs in, with a 1 1/8" front sway bar, do you think I will want the rear sway bar?

JBojo, Which rear sway bar do you have installed in your car? I have the Addco 3/4" and haven't put it in yet because I'm not sure if I'm going to want it. I put the 5 leaf rear springs in, with a 1 1/8" front sway bar, do you think I will want the rear sway bar?