Toploader linkage insallation

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mach 1
2000 F250-SD
2001 H-D FLTR
2004 GMC Denali
I am ready to install an connect an original hurst linkage to my toploader. 

Could someone direct me to a link, or provide me step by step information on installing the linkage. 

I want to be sure I have the shifter tabs in the correct locations and that they are oriented in the proper direction, verify which arm to which tab, and how to adjust the shifter stops. 

This is my first time doing this. Thanks in advance.

Your shop manual, whether the Haynes or the factory service book set, will have the information you need.
Thanks, the manual along with photos on the internet were of great help.  I ran into two things that you could possibly offer some guidance. 

1. The shifter assembly doesn’t appear to have the forward and backward adjustment screws as I’ve seen pictured on some shifter assemblies. 

2. The 3rd and 4th gear shift rod, where it passes through the shifter arm mounted on the transmission, does not have a hole for a retaining clip to pass through. The reverse and 1st and 2nd hear shift arms, Both have holes for retaking clips.

Ty

You loosen the nuts on the shift levers holding the rods they are slotted. You stick a 3/16" allen wrench in the hole to align the shifter in neutral with the transmission in neutral and then you tighten the nuts on the shift rods. Only the competition plus shifter had the stop bolts I think.

Here is pic I think not too good but you can see the levers. The hole to align the shifter is in the side about mid point if I remember right.

Your shop manual, whether the Haynes or the factory service book set, will have the information you need.