12v Switched Wire

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mach 1 - 351c 2v - FMX transmission
I will quickly stipulate that I am an electrical novice. I have a 1971 Mach 1 a 351C.
I want to install a Pertronix 1281 Ignitor and eliminate my points.
After watching Mr Hale’s video, I know I need a 12v switched wire. I have put a picture of what I have. In the picture, the middle connector only has one wire and it runs to the coil but doesn’t test at 12v. I assume that one is running through a resistor wire.
The round connector, on the left, that has nothing connected to it is 12v switched.
Does anybody know what this would have originally powered? And do you think I can tap into that wire for the Pertronix?
Thank you for your help

Attachments

• IMG_1268.jpeg
    IMG_1268.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 4
The Red w/yellow hash marks wire, which powered the throttle position solenoid, is hot in run and start. Use that to power the Pertronix module *only*. Leave the original coil (+) wire (red w/lt green stripe) in place to power the coil itself.

1687111496966.png

Thank you! I was also going to change the coil to a Pertronix Flame Thrower. If I do that, should I still only use the 12v wire to the Pertronix module and leave the current wire going to the coil?

Thank you! I was also going to change the coil to a Pertronix Flame Thrower. If I do that, should I still only use the 12v wire to the Pertronix module and leave the current wire going to the coil?