460?

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
My Car
1971 mustang convertible
1974 Z28 camaro
1963 chevy C10
1999 F150 lariat 4X4
To start, I have a 71 vert, 302, C4 car. I know I can get some great hp from that but have an oppertunity to obtain a 76 460 with trans built to my specs in trade for bodywork on a 54 merc. Not experienced in 460 fords so questions arise.

1. How big a pain to install?

2. How should it be built? (pump gas, max hp)

I know others have done this so just looking for suggestions

I'm also new to the BBF's and the 429 in my 73 seems to be pretty well built and Ive been looking at what I can do to supplement a higher octane fuel. After some investigation Ive decided upon a methanol/Water injection system that boost octane 20-25 points helps the engine run cooler and increase HP more than 116 ocvtane racing fuel. The system isnt cheap but to me its well worth the money! With this sytem it will allow you to run a high compression engine on pump gas with some wild horse power!!! Heres the system Im looking at:

http://www.snowperformance.net/stage-2-boost-cooler-n-a.html

product-large_image-7.jpg

To start, I have a 71 vert, 302, C4 car. I know I can get some great hp from that but have an oppertunity to obtain a 76 460 with trans built to my specs in trade for bodywork on a 54 merc. Not experienced in 460 fords so questions arise.

The installation is very straight forward. Motor mounts and headers are readily available.

How it should be built is totally dependent on how you will use the car. Weekend cruiser? Street/strip? Race only?