71 mach starting to put back together

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BOrtega0073

Reaction score
My Car
71 Mach 1
Sup forum first thread here but i found this place with some luck!

I have a 71 mach 1 I'm restoring...(its actually in pretty good shape)

I just bought a rebuilt long block 351w for it. It has

Bored block .30

oversized pistons .30

new timing chain and sprockets

new gaskets

new seals

new oil pump

resurfaced head

Now, I am kinda new to this so I have been reading up a ton on building my motor for street/strip use. It is going to be carb'd and i already got all the parts like alt,power steering etc.

so this is what i have lined up to buy for it.

ati crank damper.

hyper or forged pistons

arp rod bolts

cam (??size lift)

ill be lookin for a medium rise intake

and I saw a 680 cfm quick fuel carb that I am really diggin

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/qft-bd-680-vs/overview/

since I am kinda new to this I wana get some suggestions or feedback on my build

thanks

351w.jpg

Looks like you're making some good progress - thanks for the pics!!!

Go to our Introduction page and tell us about yourself and your car. That way you can post more pics of your car :) and we can welcome you properly to our little piece of the 'net.

Ray

Anything north of about 400-450 horsepower will require pretty extensive suspension mods to be able to put it to the ground and drive safely. Factor the cost into the build if you go that route.

I like ARP hardware and used it for my motor build for main studs, head studs, rocker arm studs, oil pan bolts, oil pump drive and even carb studs-even if it is just for peace of mind, I know that I didn't build my engine with a left over, unknown fastener.

What are your intended uses for the car?-that will help people chime in with whether forged pistons are necessary etc.