351C stroker build

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Muck

Reaction score
My Car
1971 Mach1 351C grabber lime
This is my first time on this forum so my apologies for any noobie mistakes in advance. I am currently restoring my 1971 Mach1 351c 4v with c-6 that I have owned for the last 23yrs. I had the motor built in 1989 0.30 over with go fast goodies of the day. Intake, headers, ss valves and lifters, 2800 stall shift kit, 3.90 gears in the limited slip 9" rear. It runs just fine but before it gets put back in, I'm seriously contemplating putting a stroker kit in it. Question #1 is 393 vs 408, and Question #2 is stock heads vs aluminum. I plan to have fun driving it on the weekends maybe take it to the track once, but not a regular racer. All help and input is appreciated.

Hello,

quencher heads (4v) with huge runners and small chambers are better for top end horse power. So designed for high rpm, not really street. You can read lots of info here about 2v heads and Aussie so called 3v heads. Seems like the more open chamber and smaller runners are better for lower rpm performance. They have the added benefit of dropping your CR to a reasonable number for pump gas.

Assuming you want street power cubes do it

just my 2 cents

Open chambered 4v heads are good too....They dont ping as bad on now days fuel....You can get pistons to bump them up just as far as closed chamber heads.......Open chamber heads with the right pop up piston set will pull just as much compression and breath better...and flow just as high horse power as closed...apples and oranges.