Craters in paint

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chopper

Reaction score
My Car
1973 Mach 1
H code 351c
Edelbrock intake, 4bb Holley carb
So I got my car painted about three months ago, and gradually the car is having areas of pitting and cratering.

I called and he was kinda back tracking that it was the previous paints fault, but from what I have read it's more incorrect stay distance and cheap paint.

It's a acrylic and clear I believe.

I'm going to take it back to the guy and he said he would check it out.

Anything I should know to educate myself on it a little better?

Cheers

Rich

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Im no expert by any means and someone will be along with an answer for you, but to me it sounds like he used a reducer that flashed off to quick?? Im sure Q or Greg will be able to answer this for you, but either way something went wrong!! I wouldn't be happy!

craters are air bubbles that get trapped, the gun is too close or the gun was moved too slowly over an area.

could also be low air pressure in the gun.

chipping. lack of adhesion to the substrat, paint might of needed flex added.

Yeah looks more like the air bubbles that got trapped. I'll try get a pic of it.

So I got my car painted about three months ago, and gradually the car is having areas of pitting and cratering.

I called and he was kinda back tracking that it was the previous paints fault, but from what I have read it's more incorrect stay(spray) distance and cheap paint.

It's a acrylic and clear I believe.

I'm going to take it back to the guy and he said he would check it out.

Anything I should know to educate myself on it a little better?

Cheers,

Rich

Hi Rich,

Glad to help any way i can here, BUT, first i need to identify what is going on here with the paint finish. Your best photos of the problem areas will be of great help to me.