FMX shift kit

7173Mustangs.com

Help Support 7173Mustangs.com:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mus72

Reaction score
My Car
1972 fastback
Hi guys I was wondering if anyone here has any experience with shift kits for an FMX and could you explain what exactly the manual one is I have no experience of shift kits at all but thought maybe I should put one in before reinstalling the trans .I have a Broader Performance 2800 stall converter for it.

Many thanks

Stephen

Hi matey. I cannot help you with a full manual valve body kit.

Had my fmx out to replace the leaking front pump seal. My intention was to put in a transgo shift kit. When I pulled the valve body to bits, I realised that it had already been done. (It's just a matter of drilling a little hole and changing some springs to stiffer/weaker ones).

Don't be put off by it ...I found it to be nowhere near as complex or mysterious as I was led to believe. Sorry I can't be of any more help except to say that if you login to the forum on the transgo website, you can download everything you wanted to know about installing their kits, complete with good photos.( free for the first day or something)

Hi guys I was wondering if anyone here has any experience with shift kits for an FMX and could you explain what exactly the manual one is I have no experience of shift kits at all but thought maybe I should put one in before reinstalling the trans .I have a Broader Performance 2800 stall converter for it.

Many thanks

Stephen

Hi thanks for the reply ,good to know you tackled it yourself I wouldn't even of thought about doing but will now. Lovely city you have, was there about 12 years ago heading through to Tassy like most people in Ireland about half my family live in Aussie .(my uncle lived right next door to Dick Johnson I still can't believe I didn't call in)

Did you notice much of an improvement in the shifts and would you do it again ?