My Intro - and build thread

lduke12

[align=left]Hello name is Lee from Bakersfield CA. Just joined today for the first time. History, when I was a sophomore in high school in Taft California I purchased a 73 Coupe with 302 2v and C4 trans, after throwing a rod, my uncle whom owned a automotive shop let me work for him during the summer, and work after hours on pulling the engine and taught me to rebuild it from ground up. Shortly after I got a crappy MAACO paint job of red and had a blast my senior year of school going to Sonic drive inn on Friday nights and showing off for all my girl friends.

[/align]f982w.jpg

Alas I owned the car for 6 years and sold it of course because of a woman. I have regretted it ever since that day and for the last 14 years have been looking to replace that stang, but with the version I always wanted her to be, a fastback. Finally after all these years I came across an old craigslist add for a 73 Fastback that was little over 2 hours away so I grabbed my old cruising buddy from high school and we went and looked at it. Bought the car for $3K and towed it home, its the one in the primer grey color pictures, all original untouched interior, 302 2v W/C4, 4 wheel drum, all straight body, with very minimal surface rust spots and still starts up and drives. I towed it home and immediately started cleaning her out. Look forward to working on her so badly and getting her where I want her. Plans are to paint her all black, with black/grey Mach interior and slip a big block in her possibly stroked out, but who knows what the future holds.nv1dhd.jpgwldsa0.jpg23uq1x5.jpg15r075h.jpg256d104.jpg

- Lee

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Great story. Welcome to the sight from North Carolina! Hope we can help you out if you need it.

2rr7aiv.png

Just cruising along minding our own business when BAM!!! The LAWS show up.

welcome from Uruguay!! GREAT project man! we are looking forward to know more!